is a writer, editor, listener, sharer, teacher, and connector

Books

aac cover.jpg

American Advertising Cookbooks: How Corporations Taught Us to Love Bananas, Spam, and Jell-O / 978-1934170748/ Process Media, Inc. / September 18, 2018

You’ve seen the pictures and heard the chortles of disdain, but have you ever asked yourself how the foods we mock and came to be? Hilariously phallic ‘banana candles’ and nausea-inducing Jell-O and fish molded combinations did not appear out of thin air; these foods and recipes have a history of their own, a story rooted in class-structures, global agriculture, and the slightly sinister corporations who attempt to control our food systems. American Advertising Cookbooks, How Corporations Taught Us To Love Bananas, Spam, and Jell-O features full-color images and essays uncovering the origins of popular foods.

Chapter topics include:

  • Bananas & Pineapples, the food of paupers and kings
  • Chiquita Banana vs. the World- Banana republics, pineapple princes, and the Boston families who started it all
  • Class, race, and cultural signifiers- how cookbooks reinforce and change our way of thinking
  • Rationing & Fish Sticks- Food as both tool and weapon
  • Invasion of the Home Economists! The uneasy relationship between food science and marketing
Preservation_Cover_Best_Example.jpg

Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration/ 978-1934170694 / Process Media, Inc./ June 20, 2017

More than a cookbook, Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration demystifies the scientific concepts that inform the methods of food preservation in an easy to understand way. Taking Julia Child as her inspiration, certified Master Food Preserver Christina Ward has collected and translated both the scientific and experiential information that has long been the sole domain of academic scientists and elite chefs.

Fueled by her mission to correct online misinformation and scientifically outdated materials, Ward guides readers through a comprehensive survey of the methods that will ensure your preservation projects are safe and delicious. Included are highly adaptable recipes that demonstrate every method and technique of preservation.

Foreward by Nancy Singleton Hachisu, an expert in Japanese food traditions. Her second book, Preserving the Japanese Way, was nominated for the 2016 James Beard Award in the International Cookbook category. For fans of Alton Brown, Kenji Alt-Lopez, and Harold McGee, Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration is the guide you never knew you needed. You’ll never look at a jar of strawberry jam the same way.

Chapters include information on freezing, pressure canning, hot-water bath and atmospheric canning, dehydration, fermentation, smoking, and curing. Also included are a detailed source guide and recommendations.